Neue Berliner Räume is a nomadic project space in Berlin that was established in 2011. NBR organises cultural projects in various places across the city, consciously foregoing working from a fixed space.

 

The exhibitions and projects of NBR are directed towards the historical, societal, affective and architectural contexts of various places in the city, sharing these investigations with a broad public. This is accompanied by thematically-focussed group exhibitions and the presentation of selected solo positions in contemporary culture.

 

NBR is a non-profit organisation run on a voluntary basis by Sylvia Sadzinski, Valerie Senden, Manuel Wischnewski and Marie Wocher – in cooperation with a constantly growing ensemble of contributors of various disciplines. NBR’s interdisciplinary projects have featured in various festivals, including the International Literature Festival and the Project Space Festival Berlin, and are often developed in close collaboration with partners such as C/O Berlin, Kunsthaus Dahlem or Freie Universität Berlin. In 2015, NBR was given the Project Space Award by the Senate Department for Culture of the City of Berlin.Not least, NBR’s program is structured around an effort to experience Berlin in ever-new ways, to remain curious, and to facilitate a shared process of learning about this city.

 

e info/at/neueberlinerraeume.de
e press/at/neueberlinerraeume.de
m +49(0)162 3144791
m +49(0)170 6665256
f Find us on Facebook
i Find us on Instagram
a Find us on artsy
n Subscribe to our newsletter

 

Sylvia Sadzinski studied European Cultural Studies in Bremen (Germany) and Valencia (Spain), and Literature and Cultural Studies at the Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder) (Germany). She curates, researches and teaches, above all on queer-feminist topics and the relationship between visual representations and affects, bodies and sexualities.

 

Valerie Senden studied German Literature, hilosophy, English Studies and American Studies at the Universität Potsdam and the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and the Università degli studi di Torino in Italy. Her interests lie above all in the constitution of public spheres. She works in Berlin in the fields of press and publicity, and education.

 

Manuel Wischnewski studied history, Political Science, English Studies and American Studies at the Universität Potsdam, and completed his Master in Early Modern History at the University of Manchester (UK). In Berlin he works as a writer for a number of magazines and newspapers, and develops communication projects for institutions in the fields of culture and media.

 

Marie Wocher studied graphic design in Arnhem (The Netherlands), and completed her Master in Media Design and Communication at the Piet Zwart Institute in Rotterdam on knowledge processing in the internet. She is interested in the influence of new media on our information-based society. In Berlin she works as Art Director for a number of magazines and book publications.

 

Foto: Juli Schmidt

Neue Berliner Räume ist ein seit 2011 bestehender nomadischer Projektraum in Berlin. NBR organisiert an immer wieder neuen Orten der Stadt kulturelle Projekte und verzichtet bewusst auf feste Räumlichkeiten.

 

Die Ausstellungen und Projekte von NBR beschäftigen sich schwerpunktmäßig mit den historischen, gesellschaftspolitischen, affektiven und architektonischen Kontexten verschiedener Orte dieser Stadt und teilen sie unter den Vorzeichen dieser Auseinandersetzung mit einem breiten Publikum. Dem zur Seite stehen thematische Gruppenausstellungen und die Präsentation ausgewählter Einzelpositionen zeitgenössischer Kultur.

 

NBR wird als gemeinnütziger Verein von Sylvia Sadzinski, Valerie Senden, Manuel Wischnewski und Marie Wocher ehrenamtlich geführt – in Kooperation mit einem stetig wechselnden Ensemble aus Mitwirkenden verschiedenster Disziplinen. Unsere spartenübergreifenden Projekte waren im Programm zahlreicher Festivals wie dem Internationalen Literaturfestival und dem Project Space Festival Berlin vertreten und entstehen vielfach in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern wie dem C/O Berlin, dem Kunsthaus Dahlem oder der Freien Universität Berlin. 2015 erhielt NBR den Projektraumpreis der Senatskanzlei für Kulturelle Angelegenheiten der Stadt Berlin.

 

Unser Programm ist nicht zuletzt der Versuch, Berlin immer wieder neu zu erleben, neugierig zu bleiben und das gemeinsame Erfahren dieser Stadt zu gestalten.

e info/at/neueberlinerraeume.de
e press/at/neueberlinerraeume.de
m +49(0)162 3144791
m +49(0)170 6665256
f Finde uns auf Facebook
i Finde uns auf Instagram
a Finde uns auf artsy
n Erhalte unseren Newsletter

 

Sylvia Sadzinski studierte kulturhistorische Europastudien in Bremen und Valencia (Spanien) und Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaften an der Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder). Sie kuratiert, forscht und lehrt vor allem zu (queer-)feministischen Themen, Fragestellungen und visuellen Repräsentationen bezüglich Affekten, Körpern und Sexualitäten.

 

Valerie Senden studierte Deutsche Literatur, Philosophie, Anglistik und Amerikanistik an der Universität Potsdam, der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin und der Università degli studi di Torino in Italien. Ihr Interesse gilt vor allem der Konstitution von Öffentlichkeiten. Sie ist in Berlin in der Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit im Bereich Jugendbildung tätig.

 

Manuel Wischnewski studierte Geschichte, Politikwissenschaft sowie Anglistik und Amerikanistik an der Universität Potsdam und hat seinen Master in Early Modern History an der University of Manchester (Großbritannien) abgeschlossen. Er ist in Berlin als Autor für verschiedene Zeitungen und Magazine tätig und entwickelt Kommunikationsprojekte für Institutionen im Kultur- und Medienbereich.

 

Marie Wocher studierte Grafikdesign in Arnhem (Niederlande) und hat ihren Master in Media Design and Communication am Piet Zwart Institute in Rotterdam mit einer Arbeit zur Wissensverarbeitung im Internet abgeschlossen. Sie interessiert sich für den Einfluss der Neuen Medien auf unsere Informationsgesellschaft. In Berlin arbeitet sie als Art-Direktorin für verschiedene Magazine und Buchpublikationen.