Wo der Ort beginnt

Various

Kunsthaus Dahlem

In the spring of 2015, NBR investigates the location of what will become Kunsthaus Dahlem prior to its official opening – the former state studio of Nazi sculptor Arno Breker. An exhibition series in seven chapters.

In the lead-up to the inauguration of Kunsthaus Dahlem, a guest program by Neue Berliner Räume brings attention to the historical dimension of the place, as well as its present and future undertaking. As a whole, the program endeavours to open out the place along these lines of inquiry. Through this, the individual curatorial and artistic contributions presented demarcate, bit by bit, a possible direction.

 

In mid-1939, construction work began in the Berlin region of Dahlem on a spacious studio complex for the sculptor Arno Breker. In previous years, Breker had taken on significant public commissions for the National Socialist regime, and the “state studio” on the edge of Grunewald Forest marked his definitive rise as one of the most influential artists of the Third Reich. From 1942, the expansive building was ready for use. Significantly, it was here that those monumental sculptures were to be produced, which Breker was tasked to create as part of the planned fundamental transformation of Berlin. However, despite the substantial completion of the house, Breker would use it only rarely. In 1945, work stored onsite was confiscated and the studio closed.

 

Not long after the end of World War Two, the building was reopened as a set of artists‘ studios. Over the following decades it was to be used as a living and working space for artists: Ouhi Cha, Jimmie Durham and Dorothy Iannone, among others, spent significant creative periods here, and are in this way connected to the site, as was Bernhard Heiliger – a student of Arno Breker – who worked onsite in Dahlem from 1949 through to his death. After this, the Bernhard Heiliger Foundation was founded and occupied a section of the building from 1996. The closure of the studio program in 2011 marked the end of an important chapter in the building’s history.

 

This year, after lengthy discussion, a re-dedication of the historic site will take place with the inauguration of Kunsthaus Dahlem. Following a renovation process undertaken in accordance with heritage-listing guidelines, the exhibition space will now devote itself towards developments in the post-war Modernist art of East and West Germany. Neue Berliner Räume’s guest program accompanies the space in the final weeks before its official opening, extending into its first exhibition in summer, 2015.

 

Each contribution of the program indicates a point from which the place begins.

 

Where the Place Begins

Vajiko Chachkhiani, Amir Fattal, Sonja Hornung, Lynne Marsh, Alessandro Rauschmann, Sonya Schönberger, Dan Stockholm, Lukas Töpfer, Gernot Wieland

 

6 April 2015 to 22 April 2016

Kunsthaus Dahlem

Käuzchensteig 8-12

14195 Berlin

 

Curatorial assistance:
Aap Tepper

 

In collaboration with

Kunsthaus Dahlem

 

Funded by

Kulturamt Steglitz-Zehlendorf aus Mitteln des Bezirkskulturfonds des Landes Berlin

 

Media partner

Berlin Art Link

 

 

Monday 6 April 2015

Where the Place Begins / One
To mark a path
A digital archive compiled by: Sylvia Sadzinski, Valerie Senden, Aap Tepper und Manuel Wischnewski

 

Although bound to a specific geographical point, places nonetheless shift in a dense net of coordinates that is only partially visible. Neue Berliner Räume undertakes an inventory of sorts, which leads to various places that are connected to the location of Kunsthaus Dahlem and its history. For a short window of time, a purpose-built, curated digital archive will be opened.

 

 

Monday 27 April 2015

Where the Place Begins / Two
Comfortable, in Spite of the Comfort
Sonja Hornung

 

Comfortable, in spite of the comfort is an edition of postcards featuring selected works on a museum. The postcards will be available starting April 27th at Kunsthaus Dahlem.

 

 

Friday 8 May 2015

Where the Place Begins / Three
André & Arno
Sonya Schönberger
Actors: Lisa Scheibner and Mariel Jana Supka

 

Müller: There is nothing to excuse. The inexcusable has occurred. What I accept is your suffering, your despair, your attempts to think.

Breker: Yes, you perhaps believe I am not suffering? You can’t get a smiling photo from me today.

 

The site-specific documentary performance André & Arno will focus on an 1979 interview between the journalist Andre Müller and the sculptor Arno Breker – for whom the former state studio was built between 1939 and 1942.

 

 

Monday 11 May 2015

Where the Place Begins / Four

 

 

Saturday 23 May 2015

Where the Place Begins / Five
Stone is Laid on Stone

With contributions by Vajiko Chachkhiani, Amir Fattal, Lynne Marsh, Alessandro Rauschmann, Sonya Schönberger, Sonja Hornung, Dan Stockholm, Lukas Töpfer, Gernot Wieland (and others).

 

In the fifth and central part of the series ‘Where the Place Begins’, Neue Berliner Räume invites the audience to a wide-ranging program at Kunsthaus Dahlem. The evening picks up on the paths taken by previous projects, and gives further space to a more concentrated dialogue with the space itself.

 

 

From 26 May 2015

Where the Place Begins / Six
Many Lives Pass By While Imitating Death

Vajiko Chachkhiani

 

A collaboration between Free University of Berlin and Kunsthaus Dahlem.

 

 

Tuesday 2 May 2015

Where the Place Begins / Seven
Die Zukunft hat Zeit

Curated by: Lukas Töpfer

 

‘Die Zukunft hat Zeit’ consists of an exhibition and an accompanying publication. The exhibition took place on June 2nd at Kunsthaus Dahlem – without “works” and without audience. The publication will document the exhibition and can be purchased starting June 14th at www.neueberlinerraeume.de, or at the Kunsthaus Dahlem museum shop.

Wo der Ort beginnt

Verschiedene

Kunsthaus Dahlem

Im Frühjahr 2015 erforscht NBR noch vor dessen offizieller Eröffnung den Ort des zukünftigen Kunsthauses Dahlem – das ehemalige Staatsatelier des NS-Bildhauers Arno Breker. Eine Ausstellungsreihe in sieben Kapiteln.

Neue Berliner Räume präsentiert im Frühjahr 2015 ein mehrwöchiges Gast-Programm im Kunsthaus Dahlem. In den letzten Wochen vor der Einweihung des Ausstellungshauses richten verschiedene Positionen den Blick auf die historische Dimension des Ortes sowie auf seine Gegenwart und künftige Widmung. In seiner Gesamtheit ist das Programm der Versuch, den Ort entlang dieser Linie zu öffnen. Die kuratorischen und künstlerischen Einzelbeiträge markieren hierfür – nach und nach – einen möglichen Weg.

 

Mitte des Jahres 1939 begannen im Berliner Bezirk Dahlem die Arbeiten an einem weitläufigen Atelierkomplex für den Bildhauer Arno Breker. Breker hatte vom NS-Regime in den Jahren zuvor herausgehobene öffentliche Aufträge erhalten und das „Staatsatelier“ am Rande des Grunewalds markierte seinen endgültigen Aufstieg zu einem der einflussreichsten Künstler des „Dritten Reichs“. Ab 1942 stand der ausgedehnte Bau dem Bildhauer zur freien Verfügung – hier sollten vor allem jene Monumentalplastiken entstehen, mit deren Schaffung Breker im Zuge der fundamentalen Neugestaltung Berlins beauftragt worden war. Trotz der weitgehenden Fertigstellung des Hauses nutzte Breker es nur selten; 1945 wurden seine vor Ort gelagerten Arbeiten beschlagnahmt und das Atelier wurde geschlossen.

 

Kurze Zeit nach dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs wurde das Gebäude erneut als Atelierhaus geöffnet und anschließend über Jahrzehnte hinweg von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern genutzt und bewohnt. So verbrachten hier u.a. Ouhi Cha, Jimmie Durham und Dorothy Iannone teils bedeutende Schaffensphasen und sind auf diese Weise mit dem Ort verbunden. Hierzu gehörte ebenfalls Bernhard Heiliger – ein Schüler Arno Brekers –, der in Dahlem von 1949 bis an sein Lebensende wirkte. 1996 bezog die nach seinem Tod gegründete Bernhard-Heiliger-Stiftung einen Teil der Räumlichkeiten. Die Beendigung des Atelierprogramms bedeutete im Jahr 2011 das Ende eines wichtigen Kapitels in der Geschichte des Hauses.

 

In diesem Jahr vollzieht sich nach längerer Diskussion mit der Eröffnung des Kunsthauses Dahlem eine Umwidmung des historischen Ortes: Nach einem Rückbau und einer denkmalgerechten Umgestaltung wendet sich das Ausstellungshaus in Zukunft den Positionen der deutschen Nachkriegsmoderne in Ost und West zu. Das Gastprogramm von Neue Berliner Räume begleitet das Haus in diesen letzten Wochen vor seiner offiziellen Eröffnung und erstreckt sich bis zu dessen erster Ausstellung im Sommer 2015.

 

Jeder Beitrag des Programms markiert einen Punkt, der dem Ort ein Anfang ist.

 

Wo der Ort beginnt
Vajiko Chachkhiani, Amir Fattal, Sonja Hornung, Lynne Marsh, Alessandro Rauschmann, Sonya Schönberger, Dan Stockholm, Lukas Töpfer, Gernot Wieland

 

6. April 2015–22. April 2016
Kunsthaus Dahlem
Käuzchensteig 8–12
14195 Berlin

 

Kuratorische Assistenz
Aap Tepper

 

In Zusammenarbeit mit
Kunsthaus Dahlem

 

Gefördert vom
Kulturamt Steglitz-Zehlendorf aus Mitteln des Bezirkskulturfonds des Landes Berlin

 

Medienpartner
Berlin Art Link

 

 

Montag, 06.04.2015*
Wo der Ort beginnt/Eins
Einen Weg markieren

Ein digitales Archiv zusammengestellt von: Sylvia Sadzinski, Valerie Senden, Aap Tepper und Manuel Wischnewski

 

Fest an einen geographischen Punkt gebunden, bewegen sich Orte dennoch stets in einem dichten, teils unsichtbaren Netz von Koordinaten. Neue Berliner Räume nimmt sich einer Bestandsaufnahme an und führt dabei an verschiedene Orte, die mit dem Gebäude des Kunsthauses Dahlem und seiner Geschichte verbunden sind. Für einen kurzen Zeitraum wird hierfür ein speziell kuratiertes, digitales Archiv geöffnet.

 

 

Montag, 27.04.2015*
Wo der Ort beginnt/Zwei
Komfortabel, trotz des Komforts
Sonja Hornung
Komfortabel, trotz des Komforts ist eine Edition von Postkarten mit ausgewählten Werken des Museums. Die Postkarten sind ab dem 27.04.2014 im Kunsthaus Dahlem erhältlich.

 

 

Freitag, 08.05.2015
Wo der Ort beginnt/Drei
André & Arno
Sonya Schönberger
Schauspieler: Lisa Scheibner und Mariel Jana Supka

 

Müller: Zu entschuldigen ist nichts. Unentschuldbares ist geschehen. Was ich akzeptiere, ist Ihr Leiden, Ihre Verzweiflung, Ihr Versuch, nachzudenken.
Breker: Ja glauben Sie vielleicht, dass ich nicht leide? Sie können heute von mir kein lächelndes Foto bekommen.

 

Im Mittelpunkt der ortsbezogenen Dokumentarperformance André & Arno steht ein Interview aus dem Jahr 1979 zwischen dem Journalisten André Müller und dem Bildhauer Arno Breker, für den das Haus in den Jahren 1939–1942 als Staatsatelier errichtet wurde.

 

 

Montag, 11.05.2015*
Wo der Ort beginnt/Vier

 

 

Samstag, 23.05.2015
Wo der Ort beginnt/Fünf
Stein auf Stein gelegt
Mit Beiträgen von
Vajiko Chachkhiani, Amir Fattal, Lynne Marsh, Alessandro Rauschmann, Sonya Schönberger, Sonja Hornung, Dan Stockholm, Lukas Töpfer, Gernot Wieland u.a.

 

Der Abend unter dem Titel Stein auf Stein gelegt nimmt den Weg der bisherigen Beiträge auf und gibt dabei ganz unterschiedlichen Formaten einen Raum für eine sich immer weiter verdichtende Auseinandersetzung mit dem Ort.

 

 

seit 26.05.2015*
Wo der Ort beginnt/Sechs
Many Lives Pass by While Imitating Death
Vajiko Chachkhiani
Eine Kollaboration mit der Freien Universität und dem Kunsthaus Dahlem

 

 

Dienstag, 02.06.2015*
Wo der Ort beginnt/Sieben
Die Zukunft hat Zeit
Kuratiert von Lukas Töpfer
Die Zukunft hat Zeit besteht aus einer Ausstellung und einer begleitenden Publikation. Die Ausstellung findet am 2. Juni 2015 im Kunsthaus Dahlem statt – ohne „Werke“ und ohne Publikum. Die Publikation dokumentiert die Ausstellung und ist ab dem 14. Juni auf neueberlinerraeume.de und im Kunsthaus Dahlem erhältlich.

 

*Diese Beiträge finden entweder nicht vor Ort im Kunsthaus Dahlem oder ohne formale Eröffnung statt.